WWW Wednesday 02/20/2019

Welcome to another WWW Wednesday! This meme is hosted by Taking on a World of Words. To participate, just answer the following three questions:
What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

img_1384-0

I’m currently reading…

readingAs Long as We Both Shall Live
by JoAnn Chaney

“What happens when you’re really, truly done making your marriage work? You can’t be married to someone without sometimes wanting to bash them over the head…
As Long As We Both Shall Live is JoAnn Chaney’s wicked, masterful examination of a marriage gone very wrong, a marriage with lots of secrets…”

American War
by Omar El Akkad

This is the Girly Book Club selection for this month! It’s a post-apocalyptic science fiction novel that takes place in an America ravaged by climate change and a second civil war. I’m not far enough into it yet to have much of an opinion, but judging by reactions I’ve seen from others, almost no one seems to be lukewarm towards it. You’ll love it or hate it.

I recently finished reading…

read.PNG

The Night Tiger
by Yangsze Choo
This is a historical fiction novel imbued with Chinese culture and folklore, a dash of magical realism, and a mystery to top it all off. I really enjoyed this one. Full review here.

The Lost Girls of Paris
by Pam Jenoff
Another historical fiction novel, this one takes place during WWII and is inspired by true events. The Lost Girls of Paris tells the stories of British female spies sent to sabotage Nazi efforts in France. Full review to come. This is a good choice for fans of The Alice Network and Lilac Girls. 

Moloka’i
by Alan Brennert
I just finished Moloka’i this morning. It’s (yet another) historical fiction novel. Moloka’i tells the story of a young Hawaiian girl named Rachel who contracts leprosy in the 1890’s and is sent to live on a leper colony away from her family. The novel follows her throughout her entire life. I sometimes tend to dislike stories which attempt to encapsulate the entire life of the protagonist, because it’s very easy for them to drag, but I thought this was beautifully done. Full review to com.e

Up next…

Daughter of Moloka’i 
by Alan Brennert

The publisher was kind enough to send me a copy of this book which was just released this week, so it’s next up on my TBR! This is what prompted me to read Moloka’i as it’s technically a sequel, but I get the impression from the blurb that it may be able to be read on its own.

“DAUGHTER OF MOLOKA′I is the highly anticipated sequel to Alan Brennert’s acclaimed book club favorite, and national bestseller, MOLOKA′I. It’s a companion tale that tells the story of Ruth, the daughter that Rachel Kalama—quarantined for most of her life at the isolated leprosy settlement of Kalaupapa—was forced to give up at birth.

The book follows young Ruth from her arrival at the Kapi’olani Home for Girls in Honolulu, to her adoption by a Japanese couple who raise her on a farm in California, her marriage and unjust internment at Manzanar Relocation Camp during World War II—and then, after the war, to the life-altering day when she receives a letter from a woman who says she is Ruth’s birth mother, Rachel.

DAUGHTER OF MOLOKA′I expands upon Ruth and Rachel’s 22-year relationship, only hinted at in MOLOKA′I. It’s a richly emotional tale of two women—different in some ways, similar in others—who never expected to meet, much less come to love, one another. And for Ruth it is a story of discovery, the unfolding of a past she knew nothing about. In prose that conjures up the beauty and history of both Hawaiian and Japanese cultures, it’s the powerful and poignant tale that readers of MOLOKA′I have been awaiting for fifteen years.”

Capture2.PNG

Other places to follow me…
Tumblr | Facebook | Instagram | GoodReads

What are you reading this week? Any thoughts on the books listed in this post?  Please feel free to discuss or share WWW links in the comments!

1 thought on “WWW Wednesday 02/20/2019”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s