WWW Wednesday 11/21/2018

Welcome to another WWW Wednesday! This meme is hosted by Taking on a World of Words. To participate, just answer the following three questions:
What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

img_1384-0

I’m currently reading…

current.PNG

The Only Woman in the Room
by Marie Benedict
I only just started this one; this is an ARC of a January release. It is a historical fiction novel about actress Hedy Lamarr and is set during WWII.

The Gilded Wolves
by Roshani Chokshi
This is another ARC for a January release. It’s a kind of mishmash of young adult, historical fiction, and fantasy. I’m really intrigued boy Chokshi’s attention to worldbuilding and magic systems, and this novel seems like a pretty good fit for fans of Brandon Sanderson and Laini Taylor.

A Spark of Light
by Jodi Picoult
Jodi Picoult used to be one of my favorite authors years ago, but I’ve read less and less of her work over time. I just feel like her books start to feel really formulaic if you read a lot of them. However, I was really intrigued by the concept behind A Spark of Light and I saw a signed copy in the store, so I thought I’d give this one a shot. The story revolves around a hostage situation in an abortion clinic.

I recently finished reading…

finished.PNG

This is a first for me; I’m posting a WWW Wednesday update and I don’t have reviews for any of the recently finished books up yet. The first three will all be up very soon; the last two are ARCs and reviews will be up close to the release dates.

My Plain Jane, by Cynthia Hand Jodi Meadows, and Brodi Ashton
This was a high priority on my TBR because I enjoyed My Lady Jane so much; it was so delightfully weird and imbued with humor. Sadly, this one really didn’t work for me. It felt more ridiculous than the last book, and the humor fell flat.

On a Cold Dark Sea, by Elizabeth Blackwell
This was my book club’s pick for the month; it’s a historical fiction novel which follows the story of three women who survive the Titanic sinking. This was a relatively short book and I think that was to its detriment. Blackwell tried to include full character arcs for three separate women spanning 20 years and she tried to do it in under 300 pages.

My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry, by Fredrik Backman
Backman is yet to disappoint me. This was such a cute, feel-good read. Elsa, a precocious 7-year-old, is the protagonist and her granny is her very best (and only) friend. When her granny passes away, she has to pass along a series of letters to people she knew in life, offering apologies varying from the humorous to the heart-wrenching.

Before We Were Strangers, by Brenda Novak
This is a mystery/thriller novel about a woman trying to solve the mystery of her mother’s disappearance over twenty years ago. I seem to be in the minority opinion on this one, as it has a Goodreads average of 4.23, but I was really unimpressed. It lacked any surprise and the character motivations often seemed really flimsy.

The Girls at 17 Swann Street, by Yara Zgheib
CW for anorexia. This novel follows the story of a woman entering an inpatient treatment facility for anorexia. While there wasn’t anything earth-shatteringly original, The Girls at 17 Swann Street seemed really heartfelt and I enjoyed reading it.

Up next…

This is a recent Netgalley approval and is set to be released in January.

The Night Olivia Fell
by Christina McDonald

“In the vein of Big Little Lies and Reconstructing Amelia comes an emotionally charged domestic suspense novel about a mother unraveling the truth behind how her daughter became brain dead. And pregnant.

A search for the truth. A lifetime of lies.

In the small hours of the morning, Abi Knight is startled awake by the phone call no mother ever wants to get: her teenage daughter Olivia has fallen off a bridge. Not only is Olivia brain dead, she’s pregnant and must remain on life support to keep her baby alive. And then Abi sees the angry bruises circling Olivia’s wrists.

When the police unexpectedly rule Olivia’s fall an accident, Abi decides to find out what really happened that night. Heartbroken and grieving, she unravels the threads of her daughter’s life. Was Olivia’s fall an accident? Or something far more sinister?

Christina McDonald weaves a suspenseful and heartwrenching tale of hidden relationships, devastating lies, and the power of a mother’s love. With flashbacks of Olivia’s own resolve to uncover family secrets, this taut and emotional novel asks: how well do you know your children? And how well do they know you?”
Capture2.PNG

Other places to follow me…
Tumblr | Facebook | Instagram | GoodReads

What are you reading this week? Any thoughts on the books listed in this post?  Please feel free to discuss or share WWW links in the comments!

2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 11/21/2018”

  1. UGH I need to get back on my blogging game – all this travelling/different time zones is really messing up my sense of time! But those books all sound SO good!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s