WWW Wednesday 10/03/18

Welcome to another WWW Wednesday! This meme is hosted by Taking on a World of Words. To participate, just answer the following three questions:
What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

img_1384-0

I’m currently reading…

current.PNG

Well, I clearly have zero attention span right now.

The Great Alone, by Kristin Hannah
This seems like a kind of coming of age story so far. Leni, the protagonist, is a 13 year old girl who has recently moved to Alaska. Her father is a traumatized former POW from Vietnam and thinks living off the grid in Alaska is the answer to all of his problems.

Dead Ringer, by Kate Kessler
I won this ARC in a GoodReads giveaway; the book will be released 10/23/18. The protagonist, Rachel, is an FBI agent working to catch a serial killer who targets twins. “Gemini” kidnaps one twin and tortures the other by sending them photos of the captive sibling. Rachel’s own sister was taken by Gemini years earlier and she is determined to be the one to stop him.

The Dreamers, by Karen Thompson Walker
This is a NetGalley ARC of a book coming in January 2019. A mysterious sleeping sickness breaks out at a college. Sufferers appear to be healthy and in a normal sleeping state in every way except for the fact that they cannot be woken. I’m relatively early in this book so I can’t speak much to the quality of the plot yet, but I’m loving Walker’s style so far.

Spinning Silver, by Naomi Novik
This is a gorgeous re-imagining of the Rumpelstiltskin fairy tale. I’ve been reading this for going on two weeks now, and I honestly don’t know why it’s such slow going for me. I’m enjoying the story and normally I’d devour a book like this pretty quickly. Oh, well. Let’s say I’m savoring it.

I recently finished reading…

I skipped my WWW Wedensday post last week, so this is quite the list.

9361589

The Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern (review)
This was a super atmospheric novel about a circus, magic, and love. To be honest, I didn’t buy in to the love story at all, but I loved the other bits of the novel enough that I didn’t really care.

Evidence of the Affair, by Taylor Jenkins Reid (review)
A new short story by Taylor Jenkins Reid was just what I needed to tide me over until Daisy Jones and the Six comes out. (I’ve been dying to get my hands on an ARC, but no such luck so far. I contacted the publisher and put a request in through NetGalley to no avail. ARC gods, are you listening?)

Tilda’s Promise, by Jean P. Moore (review)
I received this book through BookSparks. It was a bit outside of my normal reading habits, but I definitely thought it was worth checking out. It follows the story of an older woman dealing with the recent death of her husbands. Themes of family and culture were strong throughout.

Fellside, by M. R. Carey (review to come)
I loved The Girl With All the Gifts, so I was a bit disappointed to end up just liking this one. There was a really interesting story, but it was buried under a lot of other stuff I just didn’t find engaging at all.

Not That Bad: Dispatches From Rape Culture, Roxane Gay (review to come)
This is a collection of essays by various authors, edited and introduced by Roxane Gay. All of them (obviously) deal with rape culture in one way or another. A common thread seems to be that, as long as a woman survives an instance of assault or harassment, she minimizes her experience. We as women tend to be hesitant to make waves when there is always someone who has it worse. Our pain has become normalized to the point where victims often find themselves unable to assert that their treatment was unacceptable.

How to Fracture a Fairy Tale, by Jane Yolen (review to come)
This is an anthology of fractured fairy tales. The style and tone widely various throughout. These were a bit hit and miss for me.

The Secret History, by Donna Tartt (review to come)
I’ve heard so much about this book that I feel like the last person on earth to get around to reading it. I don’t think I’ve ever enjoyed a book this much while hating the majority of the characters.

Up next…

saltforair

Salt for Air, by M. C.  Frank
The author was kind enough to provide an ARC of this 10/23/18 release. This is next up on the agenda! 🙂

Greek mythology meets The Little Mermaid in this delicious fantasy novel about a quiet, nerdy girl who meets a mer prince in her bathroom. Perfect for fans of The Heroes of Olympus and the Lux series. Seventeen-year-old Ellie dreams of mermen. She writes fanfiction about them and spends time in underwater kingdoms in her imagination, trying to escape the sad reality: she is an orphan. And not only that, but she’s bullied every day at school -she’s a nerd, she hates sports, she loves books and she used to be overweight. What’s not to bully? One day, the bullies go too far. They try to drown her, but at the last minute an otherworldly creature shows up in the water. He keeps her breathing and tells her to live: “How will you be able to save anyone if you can’t even save yourself?” She thinks it was a dream, but the emerald-eyed merman boy who rescued her appears in her school the next day. Is he really the exiled prince of an ancient kingdom that’s on the brink of utter destruction? And is he asking her to save him? Or is something far more sinister and deadly lurking in the water that surrounds her little Greek town? When myth and reality collide, can love save their lives?

Capture2.PNG

Other places to follow me…
Tumblr | Facebook | Instagram | GoodReads

What are you reading this week? Any thoughts on the books listed in this post?  Please feel free to discuss or share WWW links in the comments!