Review – Sometimes I Lie, by Alice Feeney

36112959
Sometimes I Lie
by Alice Feeney

Genre: Thriller / Mystery

Length: 262 Pages

Release date: March 13, 2018

Publisher: Flatiron Books

Synopsis: 

My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me: 
1. I’m in a coma. 
2. My husband doesn’t love me anymore. 
3. Sometimes I lie. 

Amber wakes up in a hospital. She can’t move. She can’t speak. She can’t open her eyes. She can hear everyone around her, but they have no idea. Amber doesn’t remember what happened, but she has a suspicion her husband had something to do with it. Alternating between her paralyzed present, the week before her accident, and a series of childhood diaries from twenty years ago, this brilliant psychological thriller asks: Is something really a lie if you believe it’s the truth?

rating

four

This book was absolutely wild and so much fun. Amber tells you right from the start that you can’t trust her: “Sometimes I Lie.” The book opens with Amber in a coma, but still able to hear everything going on around her. She has no memory of how she ended up in this state. What follows is her experience in the hospital as she struggles to separate her nightmares from reality, punctuated by flashback scenes and she slowly regains her memories of what led up to her accident. There are also intermittent diary entries which date back to her childhood.

qutoe.PNG

The book is short and fast-paced; this is definitely one to pick up if you feel like you’re in a reading slump. It’s a bit reminiscent of The Girl on the Train, while still feeling completely unique. The plot twists will keep you guessing and dying to turn the next page. Amber’s admitted dishonesty as well as her coma-addled mind muddy the waters and, combined with Feeney’s expert storytelling, make for a ridiculously compelling read with one plot twist after another. Amber’s nightmares are deliciously creepy and thrilling, and the diary entries slowly become chilling as the story progresses.

Fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn will gobble this one up.

Note: trigger warning for sexual assault. 

Purchase links

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound

Thank you for reading! Do you have a favorite book with an unreliable narrator? Any thoughts on Sometimes I Lie? Please share in the comments!

Capture2

Other places to follow me…
Tumblr | Facebook | Instagram | GoodReads

7 thoughts on “Review – Sometimes I Lie, by Alice Feeney”

  1. I read The Girl on the Train and really enjoyed it. This sounds like one to add to my ever growing TBR list. I do enjoy books with unreliable narrators, but of course when asked, I completely blank on the ones I’ve read, LOL. I’m sure I’ll think of it right after I hit post. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s